To Search Or Not To Search…

Posted by Susan Beck, Project Coordinator at Glenmont Group

I find myself taking at least a half-hour each day to read the stories through LinkedIn Today. Very often there are links to articles and blogs that I find extremely interesting. Either the little man in my computer knows me so well that he can just pull the stories from the internet that he knows will pique my interest, or it may just be due to the fact that I have custom-picked the industries in which I am interested.

There was a blog I read not too long ago by Daniel Gulati about reasons why people choose not to leave their current jobs for new endeavors. (http://bit.ly/zyOpVD) It was very informative, and I don’t disagree with Mr. Gulati’s points. I agree that many people truly feel the need to stay in miserable jobs for a multitude of reasons, more than just what is stated in his blog. However, I remember thinking, “In reality, those are just excuses!” and then I shook my head in a blasé manner and went back to work.

And then, today… I opened my Internet Explorer, logged onto LinkedIn and checked out my LinkedIn Today news stories. I came across a blog entitled “Why You Will Quit Your Job This Year” by Kathy Caprino. (http://onforb.es/AzqD4e) To my surprise, she cited Gulati’s blog and went on to say exactly what I thought those few weeks ago. She even went on to cite a few reasons you should leave your miserable job for a new undertaking.

However, there are more kick-starts to looking for new opportunities than your unhappiness. Why do people even let themselves get to “miserable”, or even “unhappy”, in their current roles? Changing jobs can happen even when you have a decent situation going on. If something better arises and you have the skills to take the plunge, why not entertain the idea or have a conversation with the hiring manager? Now, I’m not saying that changing jobs should not be something you do every year. That will only show your future employers that you have no interest in their company or the well-being of the organization. It may give off the impression that your eyes are always open for the next big dollar sign. Something like that can stand in your way. I’m just saying that you don’t need to be afraid. Don’t let yourself get to the point where your job can’t be done without ripping your hair out. It’s not good for you, your job, or your hair.

My mother once told me that I wouldn’t find the man of my dreams if I kept looking for him – that the good guys only appear when you’re not looking. (Truth be told, Prince Charming came when I had my blinders up…although you’ll never hear my tell my mother she was right.) So I pass on the good advice: Keep an open ear. Most times, the best positions pop up when you aren’t even looking for them.

Glenmont Group is a boutique search firm that concentrates on Professional Services, with a focus in the Legal & Content space. Because we are a highly focused boutique firm, we offer expertise in the industry that other search firms cannot. Our staff has been trained on, employed in or consulted for these industries so there is no learning curve. This means that you will not see resumes off of "job boards" that seem to have little or no connection to the position you are trying to fill. In fact, just the opposite is true. Our process includes a competitive analysis that identifies the top candidates in your given field. At Glenmont Group, we strive to develop and maintain long-term professional relationships with our clients. We believe in a business relationship based on hard work, cooperation, integrity, trust and a sense of humor. We are also active members in our industries by working on or with the Executive board of our industry trade organizations such as; IQPC, EDRM, LMA, PMA, ALSM, ALA, AIIM, ARMA. This assures constant access to a network of those highest quality candidates who are involved in these organizations.

Posted in Advice, Insights

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 540 other followers

