A Day in the Life of a Legal Technology Recruiter at LegalTech 2012

Posted by Joe Alonzo, Director of eDiscovery/Computer Forensics at Glenmont Group

11am  I take a quick stroll around the floors to grease the wheels.

LexisNexis is always right in your face, to be expected of course, with the best real estate at the show.

Autonomy is sitting to the left with an impressive setup and a small army of employees. Nice job.

Coffee guys atop of the escalators, always a frenzy there. Check.

Why is IBM in a hallway??

11:30 I head over to say hello to a few clients. It’s loud in here, great buzz. People are in full Trick-or-Treat mode. They must subscribe to the “if it’s free, I’ll take three” school.

12:15 I have my best recruiter face on, shaking hands, grabbing cards and looking for the diamond in the rough. I’ve been lucky so far and have met a few great candidates who “might” be looking.  Always a positive.

1:15 I see a guy (with a LegalTech badge who resembled Santa Claus) in full sleep mode in a chair on the lower level. He must be enjoying the show.

2:00 I win an Apple TV in a raffle from EMC. Very cool, thank you EMC.

2:15 A few backs were turned on me in a booth when I said I recruit lit support/eDiscovery folks.  Do I need a mint?  Was it my tie?

4:00 I pass Santa Claus again, still sleeping.

4:50 A great day of networking and prospecting for new talent. I think that I have accomplished a lot and met some great people to whom I can present our lengthy list of open jobs.

Among the hundreds of companies at the show today, there were a few new companies that caught my eye – Palantir being one. They have an interesting idea behind their technology; it seems to be a mix of data analytics and cyber-security.  They have an interesting story, their co-founder is one of the original PayPal’ers,  and the VC money is one of the early Facebook investors. The reps wearing black to match the sleek booth made it look very streamline.

5:00 We head to the Kroll Party upstairs. It’s an impressive party with lots of people, a live band, food, drinks and very cool giveaways. I like the Belushi and James Brown guys in character. Although a very good time, it’s extremely loud in here and it’s tough to have a conversation without yelling in faces. Off to the next party, thank you very much Kroll.

6:00 We head across 6th Ave to Warwick Hotel. A Happy Hour is being hosted by eDiscovery Journal.  It is a nice gathering of some industry folks.  Not too noisy in here; I can actually have a conversation at normal volume. I enjoyed talking with some new faces, as well as old.  Because much of my business is phone and email based, I am able to meet some people face to face that I’ve been “LinkedIn Stalking” for quite some time.  It turned out be a success, we leave with more business.   Thanks to Jason Velasco, Greg Buckles, and Barry Murphy for putting together an outstanding gathering.

Next party starts at 8. It’s at Johnny Utah’s, hosted by TransPerfect. There’s a mechanical bull there.     Alcohol + eDiscovery people + mechanical bull = lots of laughs. This ought to be good, I think. We’re about to head over when better judgment got the best of me.  I decided to head back across the river to NJ so I can avoid a hangover.

I’ll save the rest for another blog, but the early morning vibe is that many people are hung over and I hear about a poor guy from out of town who had to ride the bull wearing a NY Giants jersey.   I guess he lost a bet.  I should have gone. That’s what Advil is for, right?

The show was a complete success.  Our entire team established new relationships and solidified existing ones. 2012 was off to a fast start for the Glenmont Group, and it just went into overdrive!

Last but certainly not least, GO GIANTS! Enjoy the weekend!

Glenmont Group is a boutique search firm that concentrates on Professional Services, with a focus in the Legal & Content space. Because we are a highly focused boutique firm, we offer expertise in the industry that other search firms cannot. Our staff has been trained on, employed in or consulted for these industries so there is no learning curve. This means that you will not see resumes off of "job boards" that seem to have little or no connection to the position you are trying to fill. In fact, just the opposite is true. Our process includes a competitive analysis that identifies the top candidates in your given field. At Glenmont Group, we strive to develop and maintain long-term professional relationships with our clients. We believe in a business relationship based on hard work, cooperation, integrity, trust and a sense of humor. We are also active members in our industries by working on or with the Executive board of our industry trade organizations such as; IQPC, EDRM, LMA, PMA, ALSM, ALA, AIIM, ARMA. This assures constant access to a network of those highest quality candidates who are involved in these organizations.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

