Thanksgiving Lists

Posted by Susan Beck, Project Coordinator at Glenmont Group

With Thanksgiving come up tomorrow, I can’t help but think of family and festive meals. Especially this morning, when I woke up at 4am worrying about when I will have the time to make all the things I need to for my share of the feast. And then, around 4:30, all the worry melted away when I thought about my family sitting around the decorated table talking about our lives and catching up with relatives we haven’t seen in a while…maybe even since the last Thanksgiving. Of course that led to another train of thought about other families and the conversations they all have – updates on children and their accomplishments, telling bad jokes, talking about mutual friends and family not present. Holidays are generally a time when people get together to share joy and laughter.

I was reminded of a friend’s family who has a tradition of sitting around the table and, before they eat, they all say something they are thankful for. Being that I will be with my own family for the holiday this year, I won’t be participating in this happy, yet sometimes embarrassing/on-the-spot tradition. It doesn’t stop me from considering what is most important in my life. Every time I reflect on my “Thanksgiving List”, I always come back to the same thing: my health, the health of my family and friends and the fact that I wake up every day, come into the Glenmont Group office and help people find the next step to better their personal careers. Sometimes I think a part of it is the fact that I can’t separate work from life. Growing up, I realized that my father was a bit of a workaholic. His passion for his work and his drive really made an impression on me. But then I realize that it is something different. Helping others is something I take great pride in. For me, it’s about hearing the happiness in a candidate’s voice when they accept an offer. It’s knowing I helped to make a difference in another person’s career-life. Cheesy, I know. But I’m a sucker for cheesiness.

When you sit down at your Thanksgiving table this year, what will you be thankful for?

Glenmont Group is a boutique search firm that concentrates on Professional Services, with a focus in the Legal & Content space. Because we are a highly focused boutique firm, we offer expertise in the industry that other search firms cannot. Our staff has been trained on, employed in or consulted for these industries so there is no learning curve. This means that you will not see resumes off of "job boards" that seem to have little or no connection to the position you are trying to fill. In fact, just the opposite is true. Our process includes a competitive analysis that identifies the top candidates in your given field. At Glenmont Group, we strive to develop and maintain long-term professional relationships with our clients. We believe in a business relationship based on hard work, cooperation, integrity, trust and a sense of humor. We are also active members in our industries by working on or with the Executive board of our industry trade organizations such as; IQPC, EDRM, LMA, PMA, ALSM, ALA, AIIM, ARMA. This assures constant access to a network of those highest quality candidates who are involved in these organizations.

Posted in Stories

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 540 other followers

